Not Your Mama’s Brussels Sprouts

Written by Morgan Hartline MS, RD, LMNT

I love the fall season. Cooler weather means warm, comforting meals. When I prepare any sort of beef dish, Brussels sprouts are the vegetable my husband requests. Yes, I said request. Neither my husband nor I were Brussels sprouts eaters growing up; not many people are. It’s too bad sprouts have such a bad reputation, according to the USDA these little nuggets provide 6.5% of daily fiber needs, 62% of daily Vitamin C needs, and 6.5% of daily Vitamin A needs per 1/2 cup serving. And whether you like it or not, I predict them to be one of the next big food trends. Don’t believe me? Check out this Google trends search on “brussel sprouts”:

brussel sprouts trend

So how did I turn this vegetable from “I’ll pass” to “Pass me some more!”? Sautéing. The recipe is simple, so simple in fact that I don’t measure anything at home, but I did write an ingredients list for you here.

Brussels sprouts

Sautéed Brussels Sprouts

2 Servings

  • 1 C. frozen Brussels sprouts
  • 1/2 C. water
  • 2-3 T. Olive oil (Canola works fine, too)
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder OR 1-2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  1. Pour frozen Brussels sprouts into a microwave safe bowl and add water
  2. Microwave on high for 3-4 minutes. If you are using fresh garlic, chop this now
  3. After sprouts are cool enough to handle (2-3 minutes), cut in half length wiseSprouts cut
  4. Heat a medium sized skillet to medium heat with oilSprouts cooking
  5. Add Brussels sprouts, garlic, salt and pepper. Cook until sprouts start to brown and crisp. Serve.

Remember that different cooking methods can bring out certain flavors in vegetables. Roasting, for example, tends to bring out the sweetness of squash and carrots. What are your families’ favorite vegetables, and how do you cook them?

Reviewed by Donnia Behrends, MS, RD, Natalie Sehi MS, RD, LMNT, and Jean Ann Fischer MS, RD, LMNT

Leave a Reply

